What skill would you most like to learn in 2012? asks Scott Berkun in The Daily Post (WordPress).

First of all: my definition of “skill”. I’m anal-retentive when it comes to the meaning of words.

I’ll repeat it as many times as necessary: “skill” is just borrowed from the Old Norse word “skil”, which means both “discernment” and “knowledge”.

In icelandic, “Ég skil ekki” means “I don’t know”.

From there: “learning a skill” is either “learning knowledge” (nonsense) or “learning discernment”.

Etymology is amazing. Not only does it study where words come from, but also where they are heading, how they change throughout history.

They don’t change by any law of nature, they change because of men… And I really hate that.

Evolving is necessary, fucking up words is not. There are words we use daily without knowing where they come from. What happened to our curiosity?

Back to topic: the answer is within the question. I’ll learn discernment.

What is discernment? According to my dictionary, it is “the ability to judge well”.

There will be no argument. Just think about what “judging well” means to you.

Thanks for the question, Scott.

